Blandisphere

Rupert fell with a loud thud as the gravity generators fired back up. The air tasted stale, ‘How long was I out?’ he thought to himself. He sat himself up against the wall and look around the room coughing as h tried to catch his breath.

“How did I get to the personnel quarters?” Rupert said with a groan, a sharp pain pierced his head. He grabbed his head and felt the matted hair and large gash, ‘How am I alive?’ He pulled himself to his feet and limping around tried to figure out whose room he had awoken in.

“Rupert can you hear me? It’s Benny. Those bastards hit us hard, the ship is barely holding together. The captain is dead. I’m sorry I had to leave you, but I needed to try and get power restored somehow.” A voice chirped in Rupert’s ear. “You know in the briefing before we left port they said those fucks were working on some biological weapon. I think they used it on us. I’ve been hearing things in the fucking walls. People have been disappearing too. I can’t move. I can’t feel my legs either. I don’t know if you can hear, but if you can, let Laura know I’m sorry. And that I love her and the kids. Oh shi–,” The voice was cut off by a loud hissing noise and static.

Rupert sat back down trying to process what he just heard. He noticed how eerily quiet the ship was. Then black. He tried to scream, but no sound escaped him.

The creature absorbed Rupert into the gooey mass that was its body, it spread as a wave through the ship. No crewman were safe. The Uluugs watched from their battle cruiser as the creature absorbed the ship whole.

“Destroy it, we’ve got all the data we need.” The Uluug Admiral ordered, “Inform the high council that the test is complete. We’ll be headed to the human’s home world. Send these to the remaining captains of the fleet.” The Admiral handed his first officer several data cubes. “We’ll wipe these murderous bastards out if it’s the last thing I do.”

Leave a Reply

